What’s Involved

CIPS Level 5 Advanced Diploma in Procurement & Supply

The CIPS new updated Level 5 Advanced Diploma in Procurement and Supply gives you the opportunity to choose elective modules and create your own specialist professional pathway, so that your qualification is more relevant for you.

At this level, you are required to complete five core modules, then choose from a selection to complete three elective modules. Modules can be worth 6 or 12 credits.

Download the Advanced Diploma Unit Content Guide
Although the number of exams has increased, the amount of learning you will have to do hasn’t. Existing students – please contact us if you have any questions relating to your study.

What’s involved?

You are required to complete 60 credits to achieve this qualification.

What are credits?

Credits are a way of quantifying the number of study hours needed to complete a qualification. 1 credit is equivalent to 10 hours of study. Each module is given a credit value of 6 or 12 credits.

Five CORE modules make up 42 of the required credits.
  • CORE Managing Teams & individuals L5M1 12 Credits

  • CORE Managing Supply Chain Risk L5M2 6 Credits

  • CORE Manging Contractual Risk L5M3 6 Credits

  • CORE Advanced Contract & Financial Management L5M4 12 Credits
  • CORE Managing Ethical Procurement L5M5 6 Credits
ELECTIVE Modules- Choose 3 to make up the final 18 required Credits
  • Category Management L5M6 6 Credits

  • Achieving Competitive Advantage through the Supply Chain L5M7 6 Credits
  • Project & Change Management L5M8 6 Credits
  • Operations Management L5M9 6 Credits

  • Logistics Management L5M10 6 Credits
  • Advanced Negotiation L5M15 6 Credits


Your exams will be computer-based examinations from July 2019 and will be taken at a CIPS online regional examination centre. Our Lancashire head office (Accrington) has been set up as an online examination centre if this location is convenient for you, please speak with our study centre team about this and any other questions relating to your study.

In this qualification you will be required to complete a mix of Objective Response (OR) and Constructed Response (CR) exams.

Objective Response exam format (OR)

These questions allow you to select a response from a list of possible answers. You will find these types of exams across all our qualifications levels; they are marked by computer and then moderated by CIPS examiners.   

Constructed Response exam format (CR)

These questions require you to create, or ‘construct’, a response to the question, such as an essay or case study. You will find this type of exam in our diploma level qualifications and they will be marked by subject expert examiners.

Objective Response exams
Pass Mark
Constructed Response exams

Study time

Your total qualification time is 600 hours The TQT indicates the overall number of guided learning hours, additional self-study and assessment time that is required.

Guided learning hours (GLH)m It is expected that you will undertake 250 GLH. The definition of guided learning hours is: ‘A measure of the amount of input time required to achieve the qualification. This includes lectures, tutorials, reading, cpd  and practicals, as well as supervised study in, for example, learning centres and workshops’.

Self-study requirement (SSR) Additionally, CIPS recommend that you also commit to at least 335 SSR hours. This includes wider reading of the subject areas and revision to give yourself the best preparation for successfully achieving the qualification.

Total exam time 15 hours. All the modules in CIPS qualifications are assessed by an examination. All the modules in CIPS qualifications are assessed by exams.

Return to Previous Page